Day 10 of Panchakarma – new insights and tasty new recipes

Day 10 of Panchakarma was also a day of rest, at least from any Ayurvedic treatments, but otherwise has been a full day.

The main items of note from Day 10 of Panchakarma are 1) how I’ve had a chance to notice my ingrained, habitual responses to food and hunger, 2) achieving success trying out a new chapati recipe and 3) shopping for a rolling pin

1. My responses to food and apparent hunger
When it comes to food, I tend to graze. The reason I have had the habit of grabbing quick bites for most of each day is because I am usually attempting to do a lot at any one time. Today was exactly that – full of activity of one sort of another. So when lunchtime swung past and I’d not stopped for food, the sight of biscuit packets produced another of those inner ghostly grabs, the grazing habit trying to assert itself away from my busyness. Of course I resisted. Scoping out my food shelves and the fridge I confirmed there was nothing quick and easy to throw together for lunch. This is the habit. Waiting too long before considering what I need for sustenance and then just grabbing the most convenient thing – and convenient food is rarely good food. No fruit allowed at the moment (too cooling for the body while it’s healing) and no raw food either that ruled out even munching on a carrot or two. I resorted to making the pudding Dr A had given me on Day 6 of Panchakarma, which filled the hole of hunger that was expanding like a quickening cyclone.

2. Motivation to try new recipes
As mentioned in the previous post, today I wanted to find a good (as in simple) recipe for rice-flour rotis (also known as chapatis or paratha – although with slight variations between the three). I did discover a recipe that looks straightforward and I’m looking forward to trying that out soon. However, I found a recipe for beetroot chapatis using regular wholewheat flour. Happily, dee-liciously, I can report that not only did I have a go at making them but they turned out great. Even Mr D was impressed (which followed hot after his cool doubt when he saw me making them). Given today was only my third time making chapatis I’m well pleased with myself. The beetroot gave colour, texture and taste to the unleavened bread. Much recommended.

Here’s the way I made beetroot chapatis tonight:
* Grated a medium-sized beetroot into a bowl
* Added salt, cumin powder, cayenne pepper, fenugreek powder
* Bit-by-bit blended wholewheat flour into the beetroot to make a dough
* Drizzled some ghee in and kneaded the mixture
* Left the dough to settle while I cooked the rest of my meal (yep, rice and veg)
* When ready, divided up the dough into balls
* Floured a chopping board
* Rolled out each dough ball into a flat circle using a newly-bought rolling pin*
* Put the uncooked chapati to one side and rolled out the next ball 
* Heated a flat griddle pan (a tawa, or tava – which is great for making dosa as well as chocolate drop scones, if you please)
* Dropped ghee onto the hot pan
* Flipped a chapati onto the pan and cooked until I figured it was ready
And serve! My tastebuds are imagining beetroot chapatis combined with the tang of a raita – fab combo I reckon.

3. That rolling pin
* I’ve never owned a rolling pin before. I’ve never needed to own one until now. I was too pleased to find a lovely wooden one at a local supermarket this afternoon – just in time to try out the beetroot chapati recipe. Happy days.

4. On a final note
A long day is coming to a close. I’m ready for more rest in my sweet bed.

However your day has turned out – as hoped for, unplanned, frustrating, joyful – rest well when you reach your bed.

